Trombone Player Wanted

Vodpod videos no longer available.

They say lucky is the man who gets paid doing what he loves. But how about getting paid for doing what you’re good at?

Or getting paid doing what makes you strong? Or making a living from the very things that makes you come alive?

These might all sound very similar but there are subtle differences. For one, the stuff that you’re good at are not necessarily the stuff that makes you feel strong or are passionate about. It might not even be the stuff that makes you come alive. It just so happened that God has in his wonderful kindness bestowed a gift or a talent upon you but he has removed all the juice that makes you wanna go through with it.

But let’s not digress from the main point here.

From observation alone throughout my 28 years of existence, I could safely say that about most of us spend a significant amount of our time doing things that doesn’t make us come alive. I would say 80% of our time, but a good old friend says it’s closer to 99%. And you are asking what “being alive” means, well, I think the best explanation that I can conjure up is the alternative of “being alive”. Yes, lying down dead. You get the picture – not breathing, cold as ice, the dull pale complexion. I’m not sure how else to describe it, you all know what being dead looks like right?

So can you imagine, let says it’s 95% (finding a median between my friend’s observation and mine) of time is spent doing stuff that makes us “dead”, you would have to kinda admit that it is a very sad reality indeed. And you of course could argue that, “No Greg, you don’t understand. Those 95% of stuff you’re talking about, it’s very necessary because we need it to sustain our lives, feed our family and be a responsible citizen. I’ll give you that, but consider this, must it be 95%?. Or even 80%? So we are living life here on earth doing activities that take up a bulk of our time just for sustenance or survival? Please do not think that I’m judging you or the general population here because firstly, I do belong to the those who do the “dead stuff” majority of the time and secondly, I have only gotten started with the questions and have not even concluded anything yet.

Maybe it’s because it’s too hard. Because doing what you love doesn’t necessarily invites success. Maybe the thought of making a business out of it from the start taints the very art which you so aspire to pursue for no money at all. Like Seth Godin says, “You’ll probably corrupt it”. You have been tempted before to give it a go but the very concerned people around have given you the thousandth reason why it would be best to leave it alone. Why even attempt to get over to the other side with the mountain towering in front you especially when you’re trying to take care of your farm, increase the size of your cattle and feed your village?

But just like how this blog is started or how I generally approach my life, it’s all about taking small steps in the right direction. Some of us are probably too well-advanced in our years to make really drastic changes within our lives. Some of us still have that luxury. But could we take those tiny faith-size-of-a-mustard-seed steps? To tilt the platform so that we could somehow get close to the mountain to try and move it, instead of just admiring at how difficult the task is from a distance.

Forget about the part where money does intersect passion. It’s not a gimme. But would you at least take a step with me to find out what’s in the “Land of Coming Alive”? As opposed to staying in the “Valley of Death”? Sure it’s definitely safe on this side and majority of people will find themselves sticking around. But will you take that chance, so that at the very least, you have something to tell your grandchildren? If you even have grandchildren.

The guy who talks in the video above actually designed the strengthfinders test that I took as one of the training modules in my company. Here is my top five. He created this short film called Trombone Player Wanted. It’s pretty cool, check it out.

I’m devoting every fiber of my being in finding out what it looks on the other side. Mind you, we’re not even talking about crossing over yet. Hopefully have just a glimpse of it. I hope you’ll join me. I must warn you though, you will be part of the minority.

It wasn’t a question of whether I was going to be successful or not, because that didn’t really work into my equation. I just knew I was going to be a trumpet player for the rest of my life, or at least die trying.

– Chris Botti

1 Comment

Filed under Vocation

One response to “Trombone Player Wanted

  1. Pingback: Individuality within a Community « gregorychang

Leave a Reply

