Fill my cup

Making time to take care of ourselves is essential, so we don’t sputter, stall and come to an inopportune (or even dangerous) halt in the middle of a busy intersection.  That’s what running is to me, a refill.  I check in with myself, notice my levels of fuel (sleep and nutrition levels are hard to ignore on a run), get caught up with my friends, center my spirit, stave off restlessness and refocus my energy.   I can feel my levels going up.  After my morning run, I can return to my house, my children, my relationships, and my work and feel replenished and rejuvenated to make my offering to my world.  I can do things for others throughout the day and I don’t reach empty because I am starting from a place of fullness.

-Kristin Armstrong [via Refill]

Leave a comment

Filed under Introspection

Leave a Reply

