Beloved?

In those days Jesus came from Nazareth in Galilee and was baptized by John in the Jordan.

Immediately coming up out of the water, He saw the heavens opening, and the Spirit like a dove descending upon Him;

and a voice came out of the heavens: “You are My beloved Son, in You I am well-pleased.”

– Mark 1

(quoted today during Sunday service)

My dad and I don’t talk often. The closest thing I would remember resembling the event written above would be the time he used to put me to sleep. That would be when I was seven or eight years old. He would come to my room in the dark, sit beside my bed and tell me that “I will do well one day” or something to that effect. It’s funny how certain images stay in your mind after so many years.

I believe there is a sense of being secure when he does that during those times. Nowadays, the memories seem to fade a little. And the once strong feelings of dad’s pride over me kinda diminished. I guess I’m still seeking his validation until now. But he hasn’t said the same words since.

Whether or not he is proud of me now is somehow enveloped and hidden within the silence that we share between us. Be it in sharing a bottle of wine or watching a football match on the telly together.

I can’t really imagine the magnitude of the love and hope a father has for his son. I am not yet one. I’m pretty sure that there are many reasons why my father can’t really communicate his love and hopes for me in a way that I can identify. After all, isn’t it as difficult for me to say the same things to him?

This verse from Mark indeed could strike a chord with some of you. But it didn’t for me, for many many years. I couldn’t really grasp or comprehend the depths of it. Only because I’m still seeking for such a validation.

Perhaps one day I’ll understand. But for now, I’m letting the expectations go. Perhaps in doing so, I can finally seek my own path and find myself.

Is it little wonder that when I hear God whispering to me, it always begins as “My dear son…”?

1 Comment

Filed under Introspection

One response to “Beloved?

  1. “Daddy Cut My Hair?” . . . according to my friend Brian McLaren it will do us some good. It did for me this morning …http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJK8Ev1l1hA&eurl=http://www.brianmclaren.net/archives/blog/thisll-do-you-good-too.html

Leave a Reply

