Some bad (or good) news. We’re staying here.

There was a group who came to facilitate the service in church today. They are from the United States and calls themselves “New Dawn”. I like that name. It gives a sense that everyday is a new beginning.

What I didn’t particularly liked was this song that they sang to conclude the messsage which one of em delivered to the congregation. It’s called “Fly Away” by Jars of Clay. Mind you, I’m not chiding Jars of Clay. They’re a great band. I’m also not against New Dawn and the ministry that they brought to us through song and puppetry. They are doing some good, especially for the children.

But when this song was sung, I just stayed silent for the most part. If I interpret this old negro spiritual correctly, its theology has serious implications if one is take it literally. (It’s really ok not to sing songs that you don’t believe in, just like you try not to say things you don’t really mean. Of course, it’s more to do with our hearts than our mouths most of the time)

Some bright morning when this life is over
I’ll fly away
To that home on God’s celestial shore
I’ll fly away

I’ll fly away oh glory
I’ll fly away (in the morning)
When I die hallelujah by and by
I’ll fly away

When the shadows of this life have gone
I’ll fly away
Like a bird from these prison walls I’ll fly
I’ll fly away

Oh how glad and happy when we meet
I’ll fly away
No more cold iron shackles on my feet
I’ll fly away

Just a few more weary days and then
I’ll fly away
To a land where joys will never end
I’ll fly away

Like I mentioned before, I’m trying to understand in a new way on the subject of hope. To consider this ‘indescribable yearning” deeply. To the point it changes the way I live. That means the only flying away I should derive from this tune is the lightness of feet when one experiences the soaring sensation of working with the Master Artist, to overwhelm the darkness of this world with creative brush strokes. Not rocketing to some outer space to escape all the world’s problems. (you may find that some people who wants to migrate to ‘more developed’ countries can identify with this song very well)

We are not flying away to be with Jesus. He is coming back here and will establish his reign in the world to come. “Home” is coming to earth and not on some faraway ‘celestial shore’. So that we may pray with authentically – Thy kingdom come on earth as it is in heaven.

Leave a comment

Filed under Theology

Leave a Reply

