Nothing escapes you

Investigate my life, O God,
find out everything about me;
Cross-examine and test me,
get a clear picture of what I’m about;
See for yourself whether I’ve done anything wrong—
then guide me on the road to eternal life.

The man who prayed this has got balls. You are asking the God of the Universe to search your heart, of which is deceitful and corrupt? Yet he is most wise to know the first step to eternal life. That he’s willing to be intimately engaged with a God who knows it all! He had already declared that God knows his coming and going, knows his thoughts even before a word was planted on his tongue.

But He’s asking for a different kind of knowing. The kind which stems from Love. Like a father who knows exactly the minute details of his son’s anatomy but must stand beside him, guiding him on how to walk.

Search this heart of mine. Indeed it is defiling as my mouth speaks. For I can’t get away from You. Many times I pretend You’re not even there. Examine and test me, for I don’t even trust my own judgment. And align my thoughts with yours, for they bring life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Introspection

Leave a Reply

