Love’s eye

Truth, deadened of its absolute blaze, might need love’s eye to pierce the o’erstretched doubt. – Robert Browning

15-20Then Hezekiah prayed to God: “God-of-the-Angel-Armies, enthroned over the cherubim-angels, you are God, the only God there is, God of all kingdoms on earth. You made heaven and earth. Listen, O God, and hear. Look, O God, and see. Mark all these words of Sennacherib that he sent to mock the living God. It’s quite true, O God, that the kings of Assyria have devastated all the nations and their lands. They’ve thrown their gods into the trash and burned them—no great achievement since they were no-gods anyway, gods made in workshops, carved from wood and chiseled from rock. An end to the no-gods! But now step in, O God, our God. Save us from him. Let all the kingdoms of earth know that you and you alone are God.”

What if you know you’re at your wits end? Where you realised that all options lead to a dead-end? All those years wasted in pursuing a path you don’t really want and going for the stuff that you don’t really need. And what if the wrath of people’s opinions and judgment are coming to you like the piercing words that Sennacherib has sent to mock your life and your living God?

This is where a king laid it all down in a desperate plea before the King of kings.

And this, Hezekiah, will be your confirming sign: This year’s crops will be slim pickings, and next year it won’t be much better. But in three years, farming will be back to normal, with regular sowing and reaping, planting and harvesting. What’s left of the people of Judah will put down roots and make a new start. The people left in Jerusalem will get moving again. Mount Zion survivors will take hold again. The zeal of God-of-the-Angel-Armies will do all this.’

33-35“Finally, this is God’s verdict on the king of Assyria:

“‘Don’t worry, he won’t enter this city,
won’t let loose a single arrow,
Won’t brandish so much as one shield,
let alone build a siege ramp against it.
He’ll go back the same way he came.
He won’t set a foot in this city.
God’s Decree.
I’ve got my hand on this city
to save it,
Save it for my very own sake,
but also for the sake of my David dynasty.'”

The confirmation sign that God sent is over a three year span. It’s only after that His people can begin their new life and things will get moving again.

God moves VERY slowly, in case anyone thought otherwise. Well, at least much more tortoise-like compared to the pace of demands from our society at this moment. We’re so doing-centric that everyone simply can’t help but ask, “So what are you gonna do? When are you gonna get going again?” (Referring to my current state of being unemployed. Which is technically not accurate, but never mind.)

Here God promised deliverance and it’s not even exciting to begin with. Slim pickings for crops in Year 1. Not so much improvement in Year 2. I mean, if we’re talking about the incredible expectations placed on the CEO of any large corporation we see nowadays, surely he or she would be shown out of the door based on these kinds of yearly forecasts. It doesn’t cut it. But that’s how He works. In fact, God responded to exactly what Hezekiah pleaded for: Not even a foot soldier from the enemy’s camp would get close to the city where His people resides.

I’ve been petitioning to my God, the maker of heaven and earth like Hezekiah did. I am at my wits end as far as discovering where my paths are heading. I am as impatient as some of the folks who asked me “What am I gonna do next?” But I realised that God works in mysteriously slow ways. It may be slim pickings for the initial stages, almost no improvement in the middle of it and perhaps, yes in the end I could see some daylight. Even so, it’s not within my power to move the hand of God; He is definitely not swayed according the whims and fancies of men. He could certainly extend this waiting period, should I or any of us need work on “Who We Are” before beginning this new life. He is infinitely more concerned in how we are be-ing.

One thing is for sure, He will protect me during this period against the forces of darkness. He will shield me from the prey of the Evil One. Against all the firing arrows of discouragement and spears of cynicism from the troops of the Enemy. I will be an impenetrable city, favored by the God-of-the-Angel-Armies. This will be so till I discover my life in the new land.

I’m praying that I will develop this love’s eye that shatters the overwhelming glass of doubt. To know Truth. To know the heart of my one true God. Even as He is determining my path, in His time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Introspection, Theology

Leave a Reply

