Plunging Into The Promise

Romans 4:19-25

Abraham didn’t focus on his own impotence and say, “It’s hopeless. This hundred-year-old body could never father a child.” Nor did he survey Sarah’s decades of infertility and give up. He didn’t tiptoe around God’s promise asking cautiously skeptical questions. He plunged into the promise and came up strong, ready for God, sure that God would make good on what he had said. That’s why it is said, “Abraham was declared fit before God by trusting God to set him right.” But it’s not just Abraham; it’s also us! The same thing gets said about us when we embrace and believe the One who brought Jesus to life when the conditions were equally hopeless. The sacrificed Jesus made us fit for God, set us right with God.

Tenacious. Persistent. Faith-full.

These are the marks of Abraham, the father of all people who embrace what God does for them. Insiders and outsiders. Circumsized and uncircumsized. The background doesn’t matter. What matters is the mark of God on his heart, not a knife pressed on his skin.

One could claim reward or a payoff for a hard day’s work. But no Abraham. He was impotent. The father of many nations has his work cut out for him as far as reproduction goes.

The problem is indeed big. But God’s promise is even bigger: Abraham and his offsprings will fill the earth. All he needs to do?

Trust.

Believe.

Enter into what God is doing. Plunge into the promise. Be ready for God’s move.

Hold Him to His word!

We are all led to believe that we de-serve something for what we put into our days. We think it’s our rightful entitlement. Sure enough some people do get their dues for not just days but for years of toiling in the field.

But what if the ledger of effort and payoff doesn’t balance? When we don’t get what we deserve because of some glitch in the system? When the problem we face is beyond us? That even those that we think could help us, simply can’t?

It all seems hopeless. At times. No talent. No opportunities. No resources. Impotence.

My shot at stamping my mark on the world’s playground of significance dissipates into a flicker with every year passed.

Oh, but it was never about me, was it? I’ve kept myself believing that I must sort my life out the way I knew how. By my own strength and wisdom. But Abraham, Father Faith, was declared fit before God because he trusted him to set things right. According to the promise He gave him. Which is infinitely bigger than all I could ever dream or imagine.

My world is too small, plagued by the see-saw questioning of God’s intentions over my life. I must, like Abraham, plunge deep into the promise. Build my fort. Be strong and ready. Tenaciously hold on to what He said to me. I can’t let Him off the hook.

God, make good on what You promised. You painted a picture of an entrance to a land flowing with milk and honey. All I need to do is to lift my head. March onwards and take possession of the land. (Joshua 1) I still can’t see it yet. But I’m not letting You off the hook on this one. I’m gonna build my fort. Help me trust You. Enough of the see-saw skeptical questioning. Let me dive deep into the promise. Your Son’s death on the cross sets me right before You. And I appropriate that baffling act of sacrifice by trusting You to put everything right. Insider or not. Circumcised or not. Impotent or not as I might be led to believe. Today, I’m holding on to hope.

So let it be.

1 Comment

Filed under Introspection

One response to “Plunging Into The Promise

  1. encouraged by your faith..

Leave a Reply

