Why I removed my Myers-Briggs Profile

[via icanread]

While it has been immensely useful and not to mention, fun,  to dissect and analyse who am I in the light of some studies done about 50 years ago, I think there is enough categorisation being done in our society already. If we are indeed “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139) in every sense of the word, why then do we disregard our uniqueness by boxing our identity into one of those sixteen profiles? And seemingly trying to convince ourselves that we are either this or that personality, leaving no room for change or the permission to act otherwise. Yes, I’ve been told by a few people that I don’t belong to the rare 5% of the ENFP population, judging by how incredibly sedated and pensive I’ve become lately. Frankly it doesn’t really matter to me. I barely know myself these days. But I’m comforted by the truth that He does and knows what’s best for me.

The reality is that baptism, not MyersBriggs, defines who I am. – Eugene Peterson

1 Comment

Filed under Introspection

One response to “Why I removed my Myers-Briggs Profile

  1. i like this, n i like eugene’s quote.

Leave a Reply

