Success

So you think success is all about achieving your goals and hitting your targets? To wield your sword in battle and to conquer your enemies? To go one better than your competitors and your colleagues? To reach the pinnacle of Mount Olympus and to be crowned the valiant hero who overcame it all?

Or is it about the wise, stable, secure stoic who is able to amass great wealth and provide security for his numerous concubines and wages for his servants?

Or to have found significance through changing the world and creating an idea that would alter the landscape of his or her field of expertise? To have carved out a rather elaborate epitaph for your death?

The biblical view of success is quite different. It’s about a man – Job who had it all at the beginning only for it to be taken away from him. A man who wrestled with God and refuses to let Him off the hook by engaging in some intellectual debate. No, he asks the hard questions. The ones that his friends simply cannot identify with.

It’s about a broken man who pressed and pursued the Creator of this world with everything that he had because he knew that His Master’s words are the ones that truly matter.

2 “I know that you can do all things;
no purpose of yours can be thwarted.

3 You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my plans without knowledge?’
Surely I spoke of things I did not understand,
things too wonderful for me to know.

4 “You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak;
I will question you,
and you shall answer me.’

5 My ears had heard of you
but now my eyes have seen you.

6 Therefore I despise myself
and repent in dust and ashes.”

– Job

Leave a comment

Filed under Introspection

Leave a Reply

