The Wild Plunge

Luke 2:46-52

The next day they found him in the Temple seated among the teachers, listening to them and asking questions. The teachers were all quite taken with him, impressed with the sharpness of his answers. But his parents were not impressed; they were upset and hurt.

   His mother said, “Young man, why have you done this to us? Your father and I have been half out of our minds looking for you.”

 49-50He said, “Why were you looking for me? Didn’t you know that I had to be here, dealing with the things of my Father?” But they had no idea what he was talking about.

 51-52So he went back to Nazareth with them, and lived obediently with them. His mother held these things dearly, deep within herself. And Jesus matured, growing up in both body and spirit, blessed by both God and people.

How do you care and handle a child who is destined for a life and a future that you simply cannot comprehend? Both Jesus’ parents could only imagine him to be like any other child when he or she was twelve: playing in the fields, stay within reasonable proximity and following their orders.

But this boy was starting to come of age. He started making choices independent of his parent’s knowledge. Like getting lost in the temple, debating with the best of them. Mother couldn’t envision this. It’s not within her paradigm.

At the start of each year, my mind wanders around the decisions that I’ve made in the past. Key choices that have led me to this point. There were many that were regretful and in equal measure, there were also ones that I knew was honest and integral to who I am today.

Many of those decisions were made based on expectations of others, namely my parents and my peers.

In a lot of ways, I felt I was not understood for most of my life. Nobody knew what makes me tick. Hell, even I wasn’t aware of what I wanted.

But I realise now that…  it’s okay.

The destiny and the hope entrapped within a human heart is too incomprehensible and too huge a universe for any of us to grasp.

Son of God?

My Father’s Business?

These things are too wonderful for me. Let alone others. They could only see so much into the depth of my identity. I have to “grow up” knowing that the path I choose is as unique as every snowflake that floats in the air of our fiercest winter months. Over the last few years, that has rung more true to me. And I don’t think that this year will be any different.

With that, perhaps I should step out more, out of the comforts of safe thinking and favorable responses. My heart yearns to create and to express in ways that I haven’t done before. Maybe this year could be one where I take my chances and experiment with a wild instinct for what is exhilarating and frightening at the same time.

God.

Help me out of my feeble thinking. Release me from the trap of needing to be understood.

By your grace, allow me to mature in wisdom and the stature of who I am made to be.

Perhaps this is the hour to carve out my own unique path. Undeterred by comparisons and societal definitions of what is right or wrong. May it is be a creative span to serve those around me, blessed by both You and people.

Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventure

Leave a Reply

